Brooklyn boiz, Beach Fossils, are back with exciting news about the release of their third LP, Somersault, coming out June 2nd. Along with the announcement of their new album, they have shared the first entrancing new single, “This Year.” A press release for the track quotes Beach Fossils’ Dustin Payseur, saying it’s “about facing mistakes you’ve made, aiming to work on it and better yourself, but ending up making the same mistakes again. It’s kind of an endless loop. People always aim to make New Year’s resolutions, get a fresh start, but ultimately fall back into these old band habits.”

Somersault will be the bands first release since 2013’s, Clash the Truth. No strangers to experimenting with their sound, Fossils leave behind the bands prior minimalistic approach, and we can expect a “more complex instrumentation, including string arrangements, piano, harpsichord, flute, and sax, the new songs offer multi-layered pop guided by sharp, poignant, and honest lyrics.” This will be the bands first release on Payseur’s new record label, Bayonet Records, which he co-owns with his wife, Katie Garcia.

Instrumentally dream-like and hypnotic sounding, these warm and full-hearted lyrics feel like an ode to summer and it’s forthcoming starry night soundtrack.

Check out the new song below, and preorder the new limited-edition LP before it’s gone!

Somersault tracklist:
1. This Year
2. Tangerine (feat. Rachel Goswell)
3. Saint Ivy
May 1st
5. Rise (feat. Cities Aviv)
6. Sugar
7. Closer Everywhere
8. Social Jetlag
9. Down The Line
10. Be Nothing
11. That’s All For Now