February 26th marks the date for when we’ll be graced with a brand new album from Santigold titled 99¢ via Atlantic Records. “Chasing Shadows” is the most recent track to be released from it, and a personal favorite of mine already. Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij produced the track, which also features backing vocals from the West Los Angeles Children’s Choir. For the new record, Santigold transformed a Tumblr page into the Official website for 99¢, and to sum it up – the ultimate batch of eye candy, just the way I remembered her delivery of her self-titled album back in 2008. 

“In conjunction with the new track and video for “Chasing Shadows”, Santigold has released another comical infomercial on Santigold.com. Following her recent comedic roles on The Office and Adult Swim’s NTSF:SD:SUV, she began creating infomercials for every song on 99¢ as an extension of the album’s exploration of the commercial nature of our world and the ways in which we package ourselves and our lives for consumption. “We have no illusion that we don’t live in this world where everything is packaged. People’s lives, persona, everything, is deliberate, and mediated. It can be dark and haunting and tricky, and freak us out, but it can be also be silly and fun and we can learn to play with it,” she says. She also explores our fascination with perfection and our inherent inability to attain it. The use of playful satire, social critique, and self-examination to explore these themes is reflected in the album’s cover art, a collaboration with photographer Haruhiko Kawaguchi (photographer Hal), which finds Santigold shrink-wrapped amongst her cluttered possessions ready for the store shelves.

Now excuse me while I try to track down where Santigold retrieved her outfit from in the first scene of “Chasing Shadows” and try to re-create it ASAP because it’s everything to me. 99¢ tracklist
01. Can’t Get Enough of Myself (feat. B.C)
02. Big Boss Big Time Business
03. Banshee
04. Chasing Shadows
05. Walking in a Circle
06. Who Be Lovin Me (feat. ILOVEMAKONNEN)
07. Rendezvous Girl
08. Before the Fire
09. All I Got
10. Outside the War
11.Run the Races
12. Who I Thought You Were

Santigold: Facebook | Twitter